like HDTV Universe

Vizio VF550XVT Review – 55-inch 1080p LCD HDTV

Originally Reviewed on November 27th, 2008

Vizio VF550XVT Review: 55” 1080p LCD HDTV

Up for review: Vizio VF550XVT. Vizio is adding another new model, the VF550XVT1A, to its high-performance XVT LCD TV line. With 1920 x 1080 pixel format, 50,000:1 dynamic contrast ratio and 16:9 aspect ratio, Vizio VF550XVT1A offers a true high definition viewing experience. Expected price at around $1,999, the new VF550XVT1A offers FULL HD, 1080p resolutions.

The 120Hz Smooth Motion Video technology delivers smoother, sharper images without any motion blur. In addition to this, a 10-bit data input panel along with a 5ms response time and a whopping 1.7 billion color displays ensures you get the best images. Vizio introduces an advanced polarizer for less reflectivity and because of this technology, it’s been certified by Energy Star 3.0.
Vizio VF550xvt review

Vizio VF550XVT Features and Specifications Review:

Display: 55″ 10-bit TFT LCD
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 widescreen
Pixel Format: 1920 x 1080 (1080p)
Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 50,000:1
Frequency: 120Hz
Response Time: 5ms
Audio: TruVolume
SRS TruSurround HD
Connectivity: HDMI (5), HD Game, Component, Composite, S-Video, VGA
Other: Advanced polarizer that reduces reflectivity
Power Consumption: Energy Star 3.0

The 5 HDMI inputs which carry both uncompressed high-def video content and uncompressed analog audio content provide lots of connectivity. Vizio has introduced some of very latest advance technology with SRS TruVolume and SRS TruSurround sound to bring you the best in sound quality. To attract the consumers, Vizio offers a soundbar and wireless subwoofer kit which acts as another addition to the 3 inch speakers. There aren’t many manufacturers doing this to date but you’ll probablys ee more and more of it.

HDTVUniverse.com gives the Vizio VF550XVT 9/10 stars!

39 Customer Reviews for “Vizio VF550XVT Review – 55-inch 1080p LCD HDTV”

  1. Tyler's reviewJanuary 06, 2009

    I’m waiting for it to come to a Costco near me. I signed up for Vizio mobile alerts at their website and have been getting product updates and such.

  2. David's reviewJanuary 14, 2009

    I’m curious to see this hitting the shelves this week. Debating to get this one or wait for the 551 to come out with the 240hz and 1000000:1 contrast ratio. Might just bite the bullet instead of holding out till mid June.

  3. randy's reviewJanuary 15, 2009

    sams has them on sale 1799

  4. Dan's reviewJanuary 20, 2009

    Wow, I just bought this TV at Costco for $1700 and set it up. This is by far the best picture and sound out of a TV that I have ever seen. I watched the Championship Football games, HDTV programming, and a Movie so far and it was a totally different experience for me. This 55 inch Vizio was the best price and quality that I found. WOW. I would buy it again right now if I just found one at Costco. It is that good.

  5. Ralph's reviewJanuary 20, 2009

    I picked this baby up at BJ’s last week. WOW, WOW, WOW….what an incredible TV. I am a huge Sony, Samsung fan…..But, this TV is unreal !

    55 inches of beauty from any angle, super fast, user friendly……all for under this $ 1,800.00……….No brainer, go get it !!

  6. paul's reviewJanuary 20, 2009

    Has anyone bought this tv at Costco? Does it include the soundbar?

  7. dave's reviewJanuary 22, 2009

    The Vizio website says:

    -Integrated Sound bar will deliver 30W of sound performance power (15Wx2-speakers), backed by SRSTruSurroundHD(TM) technology!

  8. sam's reviewJanuary 26, 2009

    Just bought this tv at Costco yesterday. Had a 250 dollar instant rebate so cost was 1547, just too low to turn down. So far it looks great but am anxious for videophile types on forums to list optimum settings so I get it at its best. I searched for months. This may or may not be a top of the line tv (too soon to tell) but bang for the buck it cannot be beat.

  9. sam's reviewJanuary 26, 2009

    Also came with HDMI cable and a decent universal remote that controls my cable box, dvd and surround sound receiver. We bought two. My brother-in-law jumped in too.

  10. Sean's reviewJanuary 26, 2009

    I LOVE the TV. I got it on sale @ Costco for $1,550. Amazing picture at an amazing price. The sound is mediocre, but I plan on using a my surround sound system with external amp & sub woofer.

  11. Eric's reviewJanuary 29, 2009

    Picked this up at COSTCO last night and what a surprise. Decidied on is over the KDL52W4100 and I am glad I did. Awesome.

  12. mark's reviewJanuary 29, 2009

    Got the new 55 vizio for about $1800 on Saturday Jan 23rd at Costco. Came back a couple days latter and they are giving another $250 off or cost of 1500?
    They gave me 250 cash with a copy of my receipt. Anyway, unbelivable picture for $1500. It’s a no brainer.
    55 inches is huge.

  13. Kory's reviewJanuary 30, 2009

    Wow! be just bought it at costco for 799 on sale, and it is great. Picture is the best ive seen!!!

  14. Alex's reviewFebruary 01, 2009

    Bought the Vizio 55″ today @ Sam’s Club for $1547.00. Incredible deal, awesome picture, sounds great with surround sound system, looks good from any angle. Just in time for the Super Bowl !!!!! Highly recommended.

  15. Mike's reviewFebruary 04, 2009

    I noticed that this model requires only 244 watts. This seems low for a 55″. I asked VIZIO why and they said that this was in the “Home Mode”. How does this HDTV perform in the home mode?

  16. JIM's reviewFebruary 19, 2009

    WHERE DID YOU PEOPLE GET THE REBATES FROM?

  17. Sha's reviewFebruary 21, 2009

    I bought the same from Costco for $1799 at end of Jan..also got the rebate a week later for $250… I love this TV…..but recently I am having sound problems….it makes a tic tic sound thru speaker while watching component output. Also thru analog vide when putting up volume speaker makes cracking noise. Anybody has any suggestion?

  18. Ben Weatherly's reviewMarch 02, 2009

    Bought the Vizio 55″ XVT1A at Costco for 1799.99 (wheres this $250 rebate)??? Set it up…has motion judders with Smooth Motion on or off. Talked to 2 Vizio Techs on the phone, could not remedy the problem. One even joked to me if I bought a refurb TV. The other tech didn’t seem to care. I’m sure I will return it to Costco by next weekend and wait for the 551 with 240 hz refresh rate. Anyone have any suggestions???

  19. Capt Tony's reviewMarch 14, 2009

    Ben, if you’e having those kind of probs, I’d retune it straight away. I’m waiting for the 551 myself, mainly for the 240Hz, the usb port, and the thumb drive, lol.
    Just for grins, I’d excalate your experience with Vizio tech to a supervisor and express that experience. If you don’t get a sober response, take it to an executive appeal. I’m Customer Quality Exec for a Fortune 10 Company, and if we had techs who acted like that, they would have carpet time. I have 5 Vizio sets and am happy with all, and have been happy with my interation with their staffs. They wouldn’t go for the experience you’ve had. Good luck.

    Capt

  20. Capt Tony's reviewMarch 14, 2009

    Ben, that’s “return” not retune.

    Furthermore, I believe all Costcos maintain the same policy. If you’re not going to return the set for a refund, take the receipt and they should provide the “in store’ rebate. You may want to check out their website, and to to their “contact us” link, and pose your rebate issue there.

    Capt

  21. Kyle's reviewApril 27, 2009

    We just bought this TV last night at SAMs for $1749. We had originally went to get a 52″ Samsung, but saw this on the next isle over and were amazed at the picture quality and price. So we purchased it instead of the Samsung. We sold our 5-year old RCA DLP for $500 yesterday ($4000 new in 2004). I sure hope this TV lasts at least 5-years. Everything seems well built but Vizio is a new brand I believe, relatively speaking compared to the other major players. I raced Mario Kart last night on it, and it looked amazing!

  22. Krista's reviewMay 15, 2009

    We just bought this tv at walmart today for $1599. Unbelievable! We were going in to get the sony bravia but the picture is so clear on this! We had our last tv for 14 months and the sound and picture went out. I hope this lasts a LOT longer….very happy so far!!!

  23. Eric's reviewJune 08, 2009

    Just bought this TV from sams. Some one had returned it for what ever reason and I was able to scoop it up for $795.00 out the door. Had minor scratches on the stand, not anything a black marker couldn’t fix. The picture and sound it great. I would say it is as good if not better than my 40″ Sony Bravia.

  24. Joe W's reviewJune 13, 2009

    I purchased this TV from Sam’s Club 2 weeks ago. After turning it on I could not get the remote to work with the TV. It worked for the Cable, but not the TV. After discussing with a Vizio tech rep, they sent me another remote. Same result. I again spoke with another Vizio tech rep. She was persistant and walked me through the process of reporgramming the remote (somewhat tedious process) only to find it still would not work with the TV. Vizio has agreed to send a 3rd. remote. Needless to day, I returned the TV which is not the most pleasant task, given I lugged this thing up three flights of stairs by myself. When I got back to Sam’s we tried the remote I had on the demonstrator TV in the store and it worked just fine. I exchanged the TV for the same model. When I got it home, it worked just fine. I received a follow-up call from the Vizio tech as they were unable to send the remote to my P.O. box. He indicated I may have received a set with a defective infrared sensor (I think that is what he called it). Outcome, I love the TV. Great picture quality and sound. I bought this model for one reason. It has the feature that levels the volume level thereby eliminating the nasty high volume commercials. This alone is worth the price in my book. Go for it!

  25. Allan Rudolph's reviewJune 30, 2009

    Purchased the VF550XVT1A about two weeks ago and liked it so much, I went back and bought the same one for the bedroom. Problem: the two TV’s are back to back seperated by a wall. When I shut down the TV in the bedroom with the remote, it turns on the TV in the living room! Only solution I could come up with was to unplug the TV in the living room when going to bed-don’t like doing that. Any suggestions?

  26. Jose's reviewJuly 06, 2009

    I got this set under the impression that it would accept a 120Hz signal since Vizio’s website advertises it as having a 120Hz refresh rate. This is not the case, it merely doubles a 60Hz signal to achieve 120Hz. I use this HDTV mostly as a display for my computer and the 120Hz smooth motion option cause corruption in windows and it makes videos look like soap operas so I keep the option off all the time. Overall this is a good 60Hz display but don’t be fooled into thinking it’s a 120Hz display.

  27. Keith's reviewJuly 17, 2009

    We are having a few problems with this set. The picture gets a bit of a double image/blur that makes me dizzy when I watch a program. DVD movies look pretty good, but I put a VHS in and it was horrible! There’s even a line of sorts at the top of the set. The neighbor boy came over while we were watching a regular program and asked why our TV was so blurry. We must be doing something wrong! I’ve called techs and done walk thrus with them. We even had our techy neighbors check it out. I think we may have to return it. Quite disappointed. But, from the sounds of it, maybe it’s just defective and I should get the same set and try again.

  28. Mike's reviewAugust 04, 2009

    The picture is fine on my VF550XVT1A BUT the sound is a problem on some shows, mainly movies. The background music overwhelms the voices and we have a very difficult time hearing spoken words. I called Vizio and they explained that I should play with the sound frequency controls; no luck so far. I’ll probably return the set to Costco.

  29. Danny's reviewSeptember 13, 2009

    Has anybody had issue’s with standard def. channels for clarity, let me know, other than that HD is AWSOME

  30. Steve's reviewNovember 24, 2009

    was just at my costco, guy told me it will be on sale fri. for $1199. happy shopping

  31. Jason's reviewNovember 25, 2009

    Just bought one today at Costco, will be psyched if it drops to $1199 (was $1450). HOWEVER, Costco is posting this TV as the VF550XVT1A but the actual TVs they had in stock are the slightly older VF550M model. I thought that was sort of dishonest, but I bought it anyway since I had made the trip. It doesn’t seem like there is any difference in the specs, but if anyone knows what the difference is, that would be helpful

  32. Wilma's reviewNovember 29, 2009

    Just bought the 55 in tv on sale at Costco on 11/28, set it up and it has a green line about 1/4 in thick on the right side, cant seem to get rid of it. Called Vizio and they don’t know how to fix it – we are returning it today. Very unhappy!

  33. Noel's reviewJanuary 21, 2010

    SAME PROBLEM AS WILMA. Bought it around Thanksgiving. It was working fine until yesterday when the same exact green line showed up. Can’t figure out how to get rid of it. Anybody know how to get rid of it?

  34. Ellen's reviewFebruary 09, 2010

    Just purchased this set on Friday 2/5/10 at Wal-Mart for $1298.00 for the big game on Sunday. Awesome picture. 100x better than the DLP set I paid 2300.00 about 6 years ago. Definately worth the money paid.

  35. Crystal's reviewFebruary 20, 2010

    Just purchased this TV Friday 2/19/10 at Target for 980.00, their was damage to the box but is was originally listed for 1399.99…very happy with my purchase, the picture is great, and the brand is definately up and coming!

  36. patman's reviewMarch 10, 2010

    Bought this TV @ Walmart a month ago and love it! With mounting bracket and HDMI cables, total cost was $1500. Best TV for the money! Wouldn’t consider spending more for the larger name brands.

  37. diana's reviewAugust 03, 2010

    My sound is awful on pay channels. Too loud during chase sceens or excitement, then too low to hear when they are just talking. I too want a rebate. Thanks

  38. Lisa's reviewOctober 05, 2010

    Got mine today thru Dell, they had on line coupons and got the the TV for $1099.00, this is my first big screen TV and I love it, it is much bigger than I thought and the picture and sound is awesome, cant wait to get the sound bar….Well worth the money.

  39. dr grove's reviewFebruary 25, 2011

    We purchased a Vizio 55″ tv, model # e550vl, approximately two weeks ago. We are having a terrible time with it. The biggest problem is that the remote works only during daylight hours with the satellite dish , we also have a universal s.remote and it stops working when the vizio remote stops. It works all the time with the tv antenna. At 6 pm every night the remote stops working on the satellite, but continutes to work with the tv antenna. We even tried hooking another tv to the satellite dish and our universal remote works. We have called the support staff numerous times and they act nochalant and uninformed and like they really don’t care. We bought this tv because we believed it to be an American product and we could talk to someone who speaks English, but I have to say the English speaking support is much ruder than any foreign support person I have ever spoken to. They cannot or will not even address the problem. Also the close captioned stays on all the time, you cannot use it only when tv is muted. They said there is no way to have cc on only when mute is on. This is another problem. You also cannot get rid of the black background on the cc , and change it to transparent background. Someone mentioned we should speak to someone who cares about selling tvs, but I don’t know who that is. We are elderly and it is a problem to be lugging back a 55 inch tv. And I think Vizio shojuld compensate us for this problem, right now our only option is to return the tv and buy another brand.

Tell Us What You Think!

Leave your review below to tell us what you think. Your reviews may be moderated to filter spam or inappropriate comments.

Submit Your Review








Hot HDTV Deals

Enter your email address to receive a FREE list of the best HDTV’s on the market today, hot HDTV deals and tips to maximize your HD experience!

HDTV deals and sales