like HDTV Universe

Sylvania LC320SLX Review – 32-inch LCD HDTV

Originally Reviewed on August 16th, 2009

Sylvania LC320SLX Review: 32” LCD HDTV

Up for Review: Sylvania LC320SLX LCD TV. This 32” HDTV is very attractive with a beautiful design and innovative features. This HDTV is available in 720p resolution which works quite well with the programs on TV. This is because most of the channels broadcast in 720p and 1080p is not entirely necessary for viewing these programs. But one feels the absence of 1080p while watching movies on the DVD player. But because there is a substantial difference in price, the resolution of 720p is worth buying.

The on screen menus appear in 3 different languages, including English, French and Spanish. This is especially helpful for the Sylvania LC320SLX to be sold in different countries in Europe. It makes the navigation user-friendly and helps the viewer to go through the options quite easily. The channels are also easily viewed with the help of the NTSC/ATSC tuner. It brings all the free-to-air signals to the HDTV.

Sylvania LC320SLX Features and Specifications Review:

32” display
1366 x 768 resolution
16:9 aspect ratio
Color temperature control
ATSC/NTSC tuner
Infrared remote control
2 speakers
3 HDMI
Warranty 1 year parts 90 days labor

The Infrared remote is a great addition to the HDTV. It can control all the devices including those connected through HDMI. The remote is also quite nicely designed with all the buttons in the right place. It fits easily in the hand and is great for controlling all the devices connected to the HDTV at the same time. It is a great improvement over the remotes of the previous models.

There are many ports including 2 HDMI at the rear and 1 at the side. Besides the HDMI, there is 1 component video, 1 composite video and 1 S-video input. There is no PC input for using the HDTV as a computer monitor. There is also a lack of USB port which does not allow you to connect a digital camera and view photos. However, you can also see the photos through the HDMI connections. Audio is also good with a total power of 10W divided between the two speakers. And above all, the Sylvania LC320SLX is EPA Energy Star compliant. This is a good package to take home with you. You will definitely be satisfied with your purchase.

HDTVUniverse.com gives Sylvania LC320SLX 7/10 stars!

7 Customer Reviews for “Sylvania LC320SLX Review – 32-inch LCD HDTV”

  1. Nette's reviewOctober 22, 2009

    I like Sylvania a lot! Nice television, but could be louder. Easier to manage.

  2. Mike Gordon's reviewJuly 17, 2011

    I bought a 32” Sylvania Tv Model LC320SLI for my 80yr old aunt back on Feb.3rd at a Pamida store.The tv worked for 3weeks then just got to where it wouldn’t turn on manually or with the remote.The Pamida store exchanged it and that tv worked worked for 3months and did the same thing.It wasn’t able to turn on.The Pamida store said I need to contact Sylvania.I called them and they sent out another tv.I took it out of the box and set it up and pluged it in and it wouldn’t even come on.I even took it to my house to see if it was a problem at her house.It wouldn’t work there and she has been useing a tv of mine while this has been going on and it works fine.I called Sylvania and they said as soon as they receive the tv that I sent back to them they would send another tv to me then I will send the 3rd back to them and UPS Tracking Number tells me they should get the tv I sent to them on 7-20-2011. It seems the tv they did send and I received has a new label on the back of it with the Model and Serial number so I am guessing it was refurbished and apparently not fixed.I sure would like to get my money back if the tv they send next also doesn’t work.

  3. rebecca's reviewJuly 29, 2011

    Hi the tv picture due to not being 1080 breaks into pixels during basketball games, like a strobe light is on, and with other fast action sports as well, so they are disconcerting to watch because the athletes keep turning into cartoon like squared off characters and the floor seems to be moving and breaking up into jagged edges.

    the 90 days labor warranty is crummy because I have had it a little less than 6 months and the tv heats up and smells like burning plastic and makes a loud buzzing sound even if on energy saving setting and if I want it fixed I pay for labor, if I return it I pay for shipping to and from Sylvania.

    I bought it mostly for the matte bezel as the highly reflective “piano black” popular on most other brands causes a lot of glare if there is sunlight or lamp in a room, which is rough on eyes.

    There is no headphone jack and I live in a thin walled apartment, trying to be respectful of my neighbors if I use tv when they are trying to sleep Sylvania said I could hook headphones up on red and white jacks on back which I did but would be handier to have a front headphone jack, but not a deal breaker.

    true that you get what you pay for but $250 is a lot of money for me

  4. ROY's reviewSeptember 27, 2011

    I bought the MODEL LC320SL1 32″ SYLVANIA , This past March and 3 weeks into ,using it ,It would not turn on,but after the 15th try,it would . On my 2nd mother board and doing it all over again. Another Board is ordered,not sure of the outcome of this will be. I’ll keep you posted

  5. Roy Collins's reviewOctober 12, 2011

    a recap of my Second part installation and it didn’t work,Today is my 3d part to be installed.. ” My 32 inch Sylvania TV will not turn on,it will after around 20+ clicks of the remote and this Set is not even a year old. I do not see my First Posting?

  6. Roy Collins's reviewOctober 12, 2011

    Also, I have had one incident like Rebeccas’, thought it was the Station losing its signal,guess not

  7. LeAnn Roach's reviewJanuary 27, 2012

    I have a 32 Inch Sylvania. I have had the Tv for about 3 years now, but only been using it for a little over a year. My mom bought it for me in April of 2009, and it sat in storage for about a year and a half. The tv was working just fine until about a week ago. We were playing a game on our Wii, and all of the sudden the tv just turned off, and it won’t come back on manually or with the remote. I have looked up troubleshooting as to why it did that, and apparently it is a common problem with any LCD tv. I like the fact that the sound and picture is better than the older rear projection tv’s, but I think that the LCD’s should be made better than that because a lot of people are paying a lot of money for these tvs and the warranty isn’t long enough.

Tell Us What You Think!

Leave your review below to tell us what you think. Your reviews may be moderated to filter spam or inappropriate comments.

Submit Your Review








Hot HDTV Deals

Enter your email address to receive a FREE list of the best HDTV’s on the market today, hot HDTV deals and tips to maximize your HD experience!

HDTV deals and sales