like HDTV Universe

Sanyo DP46849 Review – 46-inch LCD HDTV

Originally Reviewed on October 5th, 2009

Sanyo DP46849 Review: 46” LCD HDTV

Up for Review: Sanyo DP46849 LCD TV. This is an upgraded version of the Sanyo DP46848 and carries all the basic features available in the older version. The 46” display has a resolution of 1080p which makes for great picture quality and high definition graphics. 1080p is the order of the day and movies can be seen in their original quality. It also makes playing games with a gaming console an exciting affair. Although the price is bound to go up with 1080p but it is worth paying a few extra dollars to see the effects. However, it does not affect most of the television programs which are still displayed in 720p.

The audio receives a great impetus with built-in 10 watt speakers and MTS/SAP stereo. The digital audio is flawless and gives a good effect in closed rooms. In the video department, the Sanyo DP46849 scores highly with 6.5 ms response time. This helps to clear artifacts and blurring in the images. The fast action sequences can be seen without any hitches. This HDTV also has an aspect ratio of 16:9 like most other brands.

Sanyo DP46849 Features and Specifications Review:

  • 46” widescreen display
  • 16:9 image aspect ratio
  • 1080p native resolution
  • 6.5 ms response time
  • Integrated ATSC/NTSC/Clear QAM tuner
  • Built-in 10W speakers
  • 3 HDMI
  • Energy Star compliant
  • 1 year limited warranty

The glossy black look is common to most models of Sanyo and contributes to the good looks of the set. It also has a tilted but removable stand which can be removed to mount the HDTV on the walls. The set looks good whether kept on the stand or mounted on the walls. Another alluring aspect of this HDTV is its compliance with Energy Star requirements. You can keep your electricity bills in check because of the low consumption of power.

As far as connectivity is concerned, there are several options including the presence of 3 HDMI. Connecting with high definition devices becomes a cinch and you can now connect camcorders, gaming consoles and Blu-ray players to the HDTV. Other inputs include 2 component and 1 composite inputs and the extremely useful USB port and PC input. Watching photos from the digital camera becomes a pleasure as also the use of this HDTV as a computer monitor. With an MSRP of $960, the Sanyo DP46849 is perfect for those who want a reasonably large HDTV for a small price.

HDTVUniverse.com gives Sanyo DP46849 8/10 stars!

45 Customer Reviews for “Sanyo DP46849 Review – 46-inch LCD HDTV”

  1. sanjiv arora's reviewOctober 06, 2009

    east or west sony lcd is the best,beyond comparision picture quality

  2. Al's reviewJanuary 04, 2010

    How many hz is the Sanyo DP46849 ??

  3. Tony Powell's reviewJuly 05, 2010

    Had tv for a week now works great.

  4. Richard's reviewSeptember 14, 2010

    Had tv for 1yr and 2wks, and the right side has black lines running through the screen. Called customer service and told me there’s nothing they could do. I would think TVs should last for more than a year. When it works it does have a great picture, or did have a great picture.

  5. Bill's reviewOctober 18, 2010

    I got a 46″ sanyo from walmart, when it was about 6 months old a large part of the screen would turn black and fade in and out. service techs came to my house and replaced the screen panel which is basicly the whole tv. Four months later it is doing the same thing.It is in the shop now . I was glad I got the 2 year service agreement. The next time it does this I will give it back to walmart. I am afraid that when the service agreement runs out I will be stuck with a 1100 dollar peice of JUNK!!! A lot of Other people have this problem BUYER BEWARE!

  6. disgusted's reviewDecember 20, 2010

    We have had our tv for 1yr and two months. It has been a great tv but now it has one side of the screen that turns black and sometimes lines that run through it. I would advise another brand. We have loved it until now. for the price it should last longer.

  7. Lemon's reviewDecember 21, 2010

    Two year old and left side of screen is dark cloud until it warms up after about five minutes. Recall Recall Recall.

  8. Amy in OK.'s reviewDecember 27, 2010

    Bought a Sanyo 46 inch flat screen TV, well guess what screen went black it’s just now 2 years old. Cost to fix is 800 bucks! JUNK TV DO NOT BUY ONE!

  9. Dan in Kansas's reviewJanuary 02, 2011

    Did a search for Sanyo 46 inch LCD screen dark on one side and found this site. Yep, I’m having the same problem. Just started today after owning the TV for 2 years and 4 months. I would advise against buying this TV.

  10. Howard Irick's reviewJanuary 04, 2011

    5 months old in shop POS warnenty people told to take to shop for repair [no srceen[ The shop is in back ally where i dont even want to go!! 1 month later still no tv. Dont buy!!!

  11. Pauline's reviewJanuary 06, 2011

    When my Sanyo model #DP46848 was just a little over 2 yrs. old [cost $1,100+] there came black lines about 3″ from top about 1+” thick with a few single lines above it. Calling them got me two repair shops 80 & 125 miles away! I would think with so many complaints about the same problem they would have a recall and repair them free, just like Toyota & etc., why does our government let these sleazy outfits and Walmart get away with this?
    DO NOT BUY ANY SANYO TV’S OR PRODUCTS!!!

  12. KC's reviewJanuary 16, 2011

    Worst TV I’ve ever bought. Bought in in June 2010 from Wal-Mart, and by December 2010 screen would go black 5 minutes after turning it on. Sound would still be there. Would turn it off & back on, and the same thing would happen over and over again. $850.00 for 6 months! Ridiculous. Don’t buy this garbage from Sanyo.

  13. Patty Moffitt's reviewJanuary 18, 2011

    In sept 2008 we purchased the DP46848 from Walmart and had to return it to the store in Nov 2008 because of black lines on the top of the screen. The tv worked good up until about 2 months ago. The black lines are now on this unit. I was always a believer in the quality of their products that is why I made this purchase. I too was told buy the company that there was nothing to be done since it was out of warranty. There is a obvious problem after reading all the reviews on countless sites that all state the same issues. How sad that Sanyo cant step up and do the right thing for their customers.

  14. Mike's reviewJanuary 21, 2011

    Purchased 46 SANYO 1080 LCD HDTV from WALMART with 3 year extended warranty. AFter 1 year 2motnhs left side of screen went black intermittently.
    Warranty service center picked upTV after 30 days no response from the service center. Finally warranty company agreed to replace tv – total time 2 months.

    Don’t buy one of these tvs espcially from WALMART. Time to rectify situation was unsat

  15. helort's reviewJanuary 29, 2011

    Do not buy this TV. The screen is going to have a black shadow, do not waste your money.

  16. Larry Vall's reviewFebruary 04, 2011

    Have the Sanyo LCD 46 in not even 2 years old. Black line down the front of the screen also. Called them nothing they can do after 1 year. Gave me a number for a repair person. I told them they can shove it. Not a good product at all. I am a single Dad and bought it with my taxes after working all year and being really excited im getting a nice tv. I got a peice of JUNK!!!!!

  17. Dan's reviewFebruary 28, 2011

    I wish i would have seen this 2 years ago as my tv started to do the same thing everyone is complaining about. Black strip is covering up the top of the tv and will not go away. I would advise against buying this tv as i paid 800 dollars and its crap now!

    Funny thing is i have had my 32 inch tube tv in my bedroom for almost 12 years with no problems.

  18. shelly freant's reviewMarch 28, 2011

    We too have a 46 inch sanyo HDTV APPROX 3 YRS OLD AND NOW HAVE THE LEFT SIDE OF OUR SCREEN BLACK !!! i cant elieve this company is not standing behind this product So im assumimg – there is nothing we can do ??

  19. Denyale's reviewMarch 30, 2011

    I bought mine back in 2008. Had a little shadowing last year, but it wasn’t such a distraction. This morning I turn it on and I’ve got a third of the screen in shadow. 1,000 bucks wasted!

  20. Glenn f's reviewApril 04, 2011

    Guess what? Yup, I got shadow all across the left side of the screen. Customer service actually said “good luck”. Warranty expired two months ago.
    DO NOT BUY THIS PIECE OF JUNK!

  21. Dean's reviewMay 05, 2011

    Junk. Audio turns off, dark scenes have purple color. Never Sanyo again. No support.

  22. Tasha's reviewMay 16, 2011

    DO NOT BUY THIS TV! I HAVE BLACK SHAWDOWS AND FLICKERING OF THE SCREEN. I WISH I COULD GET MY MONEY BACK ON THIS PICE OF JUNK. I WILL SE IF THE PAWN SHOP WILL TAKE IT FOR 200 WHICH IS STILL A HUGE LOSS. NEVER BUY TV APPLIANCES FROM WALMART. MY 36 TV PURCHASED INCH FROM 10 YEARS AGO HAS NEVER HAD A PROBLEM AND NOW I HAVE TO DEAL WITH THIS CRAP AFTER ONLY HAVING IT FOR 2 1/2 YEARS. IS THERE ANYWAY TO FIX THE BLACK SHAWDOW AND HOW MUCH DOES IT COST TO GET IT FIXED. IF NOT I WILL PAWN THIS THING OR SELL IT TO THE LOCAL TV REPAIRMAN TO GET IT OFF MY HANDS.

  23. Danno's reviewJune 24, 2011

    Don’t buy,piece of junk. Same problem as everyone else,left side of screen black.
    Sanyo should have had a recall for this crap.

  24. Pam's reviewJuly 02, 2011

    I am usually good for researching any product before I buy. I swear I didnt see this page. My 46 inch sanyo that was purchased from walmart is doing the thing with the black lines in the upper rright hand corner. Got a 30 inch vizio that hasnt once given me trouble and had it longer. Gettin another vizio. Only had the sanyo tv a yr before problems arose. Junk. smh.

  25. Steve's reviewJuly 07, 2011

    Sanyo TVs are shit. I am having the same problems as everyone else. I called customer service and i got no help what so ever. I asked the customer service rep if she thought TVs should last longer than a year and a half and she said well of course. Seems like there is some major recall. I am going to call back and work my way up the ladder until i get the CEO on the phone. total bullshit and horrible customer service. I wouldn’t recommend buying stock in this company.

  26. sarah's reviewJuly 27, 2011

    Sanyo 1080p from Wal-mart. samething as you all black and dark on the right side one year after the purchase. funny how the old tube tv we have had for 20 years. buy this stupid piece of crap for over 1,000.00 and it lasted one year. really thanks wal-hell i will never shop there again. support your local stores!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  27. sarah's reviewJuly 27, 2011

    Hi again. here’s Sanyo email. suport@sanyotv.com or sales at sales@sanyotv.com. and walmarts head office. wal-mart 702 sw 8th st . Bentonville arkansas, 72716-8611. WRITE AND COMPLAIN to them all. Please and thank you.

  28. Alicia's reviewJuly 28, 2011

    I bought a Sanyo 46″ and paid over $1200 from Walmart 2 years ago and for the past two week exactly half of my tv screen has a black shadow covering the screen. This is so embarrassing especially when new visitors come over. Sad, I am so very disappointed, I thought I was buying a great tv because I have a older model Sanyo, not a flatscreen that still works and have had this tv for over 7 years.

  29. Rob's reviewAugust 05, 2011

    I bought the same TV, also from Walmart. It’s about a year and a half old, and we have the right side of the screen in a faded shadow all the time now. When it started it would fix itself after 5-10 minutes, but now it’s just stuck that way. Very unhappy.

  30. Kelly Payne's reviewAugust 06, 2011

    same problem – don’t buy a Sanyo unless they do something about their defective product.

  31. Tori's reviewSeptember 05, 2011

    Hopefully there is power in numbers… We’ve had our sayno tv for four years… about two into it the almost famous black bar became part of the family… It ticks me off that we spent our hard earned money (approximately 130 hours of our lives) on something that we researched for months, just to be stuck with a problem that is going to cost us more money to fix… Next time I won’t be buying a sayno, considering there customer service skills… or lack there of.

  32. Pam's reviewNovember 17, 2011

    I too have the black boxes/clouds all over my 2 year old TV and it’s sad:(
    I called Sanyo though and they admitted there was a problem with the set. I agree they should replace my TV but it’s been 2 years so the warranty has passed.
    I did however receive an offer for a brand new 46 in ch TV shipped for free for $350. That have fixed the problems with the panels and I have put it on my credit card so if the problem arises again (which they promise it won’t) I’ll get the money back from them through my credit card company.
    . I like the quality otherwise and for $350 and the knowledge that this time I’m protected I feel good about trying a Sanyo TV again.
    Maybe you guys should call them too??

  33. Kevin's reviewNovember 20, 2011

    Same crap here, entire right side of screen of black for 1st 20 minutes then black strip across the top third of the screen all of the time. POS, never buy another Sanyo product again. Can’t beleive there is no recall

  34. TJ NY's reviewNovember 28, 2011

    Had this TV for about a year and a half. Right half of the screen cuts out, after a few hits on the TV it comes back. Sometimes this will last, sometimes not. I guess Sanyo and poor TV’s are synonymous. My fault I should have done my homework. I will not make this mistake again. Do yourself a favor, save yourself some headaches and stay away from Sanyo.

  35. James's reviewDecember 13, 2011

    I have the black screen problem also, as well as horizontal and vertical lines running across the screen. This TV is only 2 years old! Sanyo offers no help. I am told it is a bad LCD panel, which would cost me $1000 to fix. Several people online are having the same problem.

    UNACCEPTABLE! DO NOT BUY SANYO!

  36. Brent's reviewDecember 16, 2011

    After 2 1/2 years shut it off went to bed,wife called next morning”what did you do to tv”. Turn it on small grenn light comes on begins to blink and nothng else-no sound -no picture.Some people saying power supply? anybody know for sure? I do know this I did not buy another sanyo.

  37. JOHN CANTRELL's reviewJanuary 26, 2012

    I ALSO HAVE ONE OF THE JUNK TV’S I PAID 1200.00 FOR 3 YEARS AND IT IS BLACK ON ONE SIDE, THE LEFT SIDE. WALMART WILL NOT DO A THING AND SANYO WILL NOT DO ANYTHING. SO WE CALL HAVE CRAP TO SHOOT AT AND I WILL MAKE SURE I COST SANYO A LOT OF SALES MY TV MAN TELLS ME HE HAS 22 46 IN SANYOS IN THE BACK ROOM ALL JUNK.

  38. beny's reviewFebruary 04, 2012

    I always thought sanyo was a good brand until my TV went dark on one side. Takes about 45 minutes for it to return to normal which is very annoying. I’m NEVER buying another Sanyo product again after seeing how many people are having the same problem.

  39. David's reviewFebruary 04, 2012

    Our Sanyo Model 46849 is out after 2 years. Green light comes on and it always takes 10 seconds to come on, but now the green light goes off and keeps coming on. Piece of junk.

  40. Don's reviewFebruary 24, 2012

    A year and two month before the lines also. Sad that their are so many of the same problems. Quality control/assurance is not being applied it seem due to the quality of other brands. Since this isn’t a health issue the government will not intervene. Like me and all of you, the price was right, more people will fall into a deal you can’t overlook but will fail expectation. To bad, I enjoy this item and will wait until I have to give it up and look around again.
    God bless!

  41. Charles m's reviewMarch 04, 2012

    I cannot believe that so many of us are having the same problem with the Sanyo TVs. I spent $1200 on this a wal mart and expected better than this. I hope they do something to help us although from the sound of things it is not likely.

  42. Daren's reviewMarch 19, 2012

    I HAVE A 2008 SANYO DP46848 LCD HD TV. AFTER 2YRS HALF OF THE SCREEN IS DARK AT 1ST THEN WARMS UP AND HAS A HORRIBLE PICTURE ESPECIALLY ON THE BAD SIDE. SAME PROBLEM AS EVERYONE ELSE I GUESS. I WANT TO FIX IT MYSELF BUT I NEED TO KNOW WHAT PARTS I SHOULD ORDER AND REPLACE. PLEASE AND THANX FOR THE HELP IF SOMEONE COULD LET ME KNOW SOON. TODAYS DATE IS 3/19/2012

  43. jennifer's reviewMay 03, 2012

    Would it be reasonable after all the complaints to file action against the company?? What are our rights? We bought a sanyo model 46840. 2 Yrs old. Same problem. It has worked its way to blacking out 1/2 screen. WalMart and sanyo not providing any compensation.

  44. Rich's reviewMay 28, 2012

    I purchased a Sanyo DP46849 TV 2 years ago and it has already gone bad. There is a thermal fuzzy ring around ever image and the screen has become very dark. No matter what contrast or bightness we try, the picture is still trashed. This is a junk TV and I swear I will NEVER buy another Sanyo product. We spent over $800 at Walmart for this TV and we are very disappointed. Please don’t make the same mistake we did. Do your homework BEFORE you lay out that much cash. SANYO IS JUNK!

  45. Sheila Neal's reviewJune 30, 2012

    I need to jump and say I found this sight by searching for black shadows on Sanyo tv. I cannot believe so many people have bought these televisions. I have heard that Walmart orders cheaper tvs with low quality components. I bought mine at Walmart and I am not happy. I cannot afford thousand dollar disposable televisions.

Tell Us What You Think!

Leave your review below to tell us what you think. Your reviews may be moderated to filter spam or inappropriate comments.

Submit Your Review








Hot HDTV Deals

Enter your email address to receive a FREE list of the best HDTV’s on the market today, hot HDTV deals and tips to maximize your HD experience!

HDTV deals and sales