like HDTV Universe

Sanyo DP32649 Review – 32-inch LCD HDTV

Originally Reviewed on October 6th, 2009

Sanyo DP32649 Review: 32” LCD HDTV

Up for Review: Sanyo DP32649 LCD TV. With a native resolution of 1365 x 768 pixels, this HDTV is a very modest offering from Sanyo. Most of the programs telecast on TV are in 720p and so this set is just ideal for them. Movie-watching on Blu-ray players can be a bit of a let down with 720p because the requirement is clearly 1080p. Gaming can also be a problem due to this reason. But the most important TV programs can be seen without any hitches. Besides, this leads to a lower price tag of $460 MSRP.

The inclusion of 7W speakers leaves a lot to be desired. Most of the HDTVs today sport a combined effect of 20W to provide a very good audio. The Sanyo DP32649 needs to be improved in this aspect. The default picture setting is also not soothing to the eyes. There needs to be a visible improvement in the color pattern so that the images look better. But the picture quality is good in comparison to other brands in this price range. The TV is basically good to be bought as a second option in the house.

Sanyo DP32649 Features and Specifications Review:

  • 31.5” display
  • 720p display resolution
  • 16:9 aspect ratio
  • 178 degrees viewing angle
  • 191 total channels
  • Integrated NTSC/ATSC/Clear QAM tuner
  • 3D Y/C digital comb filter
  • XDS-Extended Data Service capability
  • V-Guide Parental Control
  • Trilingual Menus: English, Spanish, French
  • Auto Channel Search
  • 2 HDMI
  • 1 USB input
  • Energy Star compliant

A review shows that the Sanyo DP32649 has a built-in ATSC/NTSC tuner which is good enough for both analog and digital signals. It does not need a separate set top box to view TV programs. Connectivity is very good with HDMI, component input, composite input, S-video input, PC input, USB port and a headphone. HDMI enables connection with high definition devices like Blu-ray players, gaming consoles and camcorders. PC input enables the HDTV to be used as a computer monitor and the presence of the USB port helps to plug in a digital camera.

This HDTV has a response time of 5 ms which is very good for fast action scenes. Blurring is less together with picture lag. The resulting effect is a fine picture quality. This is further enhanced by the metallic finish of the bezel which looks very good under bright lights. This HDTV has all the basic features of an HDTV with a comparatively less price tag. It is worth buying the Sanyo DP32649 as a second option in the house.

HDTVUniverse.com gives Sanyo DP32649 8/10 stars!

23 Customer Reviews for “Sanyo DP32649 Review – 32-inch LCD HDTV”

  1. James in Milwaukee's reviewJanuary 17, 2010

    I bought this at Walmart just before Christmas for $298.00. I bought it to use as a multiple display computer system. I also use it to watch over the air digital TV. The tuner is great. It is also a super 2nd monitor for watching movies via iTunes and Netflix. I sit about 5 feet from it and the images are clear and sharp, the text readable and the display brightness can easily be toned down. There’ a built in TV Guide schedule too! Easy to access side inputs and outputs and USB input for photo browsing complete the package. One thing it doesn’t have? Buttons. There are no external control bottons. None. Not even a power button. The remote is essential for operation.

  2. James in Milwaukee's reviewJanuary 17, 2010

    p.s. The control buttons are on the back, you have to reach behind the unit to access them.

  3. SCOTT IN VA's reviewMarch 29, 2010

    I JUST BOUGHT A SANYO DP32649 AND IT WORKS GREAT. THE PICTURE IS AWESOME. I DON’T UNDERSTAND THE GUY WHO SAID THE PICTURE WASN’T THAT GOOD.

  4. Margaret in Texas's reviewApril 03, 2010

    Bought this at Walmart in May 2009. It no longer works and am having trouble trying to get some kind of customer support!!!
    Will never buy any Sanyo product again if this is the kind of support they offer.

  5. Steve's reviewMay 03, 2010

    I purchased this TV a few months ago. While I liked it in comparison to other TVs the store had on display in it’s price range, I was sorely disappointed in the sound quality when I brought it home. You really can’t tell the quality of the sound until you bring it home and set it in your living room. There is little to no bass and it sounds tinny, like a budget TV from the 1970s. You can get used to it after a while, but it was a step-down from my previous TV — which was an RCA console from the early 90s. Imagine that. Overall, in the $300-$350 price range… this is the winner in terms of picture quality and design of unit. I have a 25″ Sanyo TV in my bedroom that is 11 years old and still working well… I figured it was worth the gamble.

  6. billy's reviewOctober 19, 2010

    i purchased this sanyo 31.5 inch tv at wal-mart for 348.00 the sound is wonderful and it shows a beautiful picture. it also works great with my outside antenna for free tv. i have also bought another sanyo about 13 years ago its still going to. sanyo is a great product and i will recommend their products to anyone.

  7. Bob's reviewNovember 05, 2010

    We purchased this sanyo model in June of 2009. It was fine up til Nov. 2010, then it just quit working. we had no warning signs that this tv was going to expire. I turned the tv on and no life at all. Black screen with no sound and no picture and no response to what ever I tried. I had the cable man in to make sure it wasn’t the cable box and he confirmed that it was in fact the TV. I called the local TV repair man and he informed me this wasn’t the first time he had heard this about the sanyo TV’s. Needless to say, I won’t be buying anymore Sanyo products.

  8. jennifer's reviewNovember 29, 2010

    Same for me as @Bob. Bought mine in 4/2009 & just got home to black screen…and no response. I’m wondering if you had luck getting It fixed at the repair shop?

  9. suzanne's reviewDecember 23, 2010

    We bought this model TV just over a year ago and of course something went wrong just after the warranty expired! Sound goes dead and we have to turn the TV off and on to get sound. It plays for a while and then goes silent again. No help from Sanyo – 1st and last product I ‘ll buy from them

  10. bobby m's reviewDecember 27, 2010

    i bought my sanyo tv from wal-mart about . i agree with most others on the bad sound . and now its been goin off and not able to get it back on . i bought it cause it is a name brand… NOT AGAIN… i payed about $350.00 to have a half way soundin tv for ayears use

  11. bobby m's reviewDecember 27, 2010

    james from milwaukee …….. how much did sanyo and wal-mart pay you to lie . cause you sure posted alot of options normal people even think to speak of

  12. Steve E.'s reviewJanuary 05, 2011

    I bought this tv at walmart two years ago and have had NO problems whatsover. I looked at all of the pictures (including the Vizio) and saw a decidely better one with the Sanyo. I have no complaints regarding the sound. So far this tv works great for me (and I use it daily). I would have no idea how to use it as a computer monitor and have no desire to. For the money, I would definitely reccommend this to any of my friends in the market for a decent, affordable HDTV.

  13. Max's reviewJanuary 05, 2011

    Defective devices exist in all brands .. including Sony, Samsung and Panasonic, etc. .. and that is not indicative of a poor quality brand, Sanyo is a brand with many years in the market and its products are of very good quality.
    I bought this model after a long selection and analysis of alternatives, and for me the lower price / picture quality / connectivity, is very good, and to have 720p of resolution, the sharpness and image quality is quite good

  14. Rich's reviewFebruary 04, 2011

    The picture is quite good, but i agree that the sound is very poor if you want much volume. We get around this by running the DVD player through our stereo.

  15. Juan's reviewMarch 02, 2011

    I have the same problem, after a year It wont turn on. I took it to a local service shop and they told m the “main unit” is bad.

  16. Bridget's reviewMay 27, 2011

    I purchased my Sanyo on 2009 also, the manufacturers date is May 2009. First I had the problem with the volume as someone else did, that was for about a year. Had to push the pause button than play to come back on. Then yesturday morning my husband went to turn the TV on and it came on and off and that’s all it does now. Going to see if we can find out what’s wrong. A friend of ours has another brand and hers did the same thing and it was just 2 capacitors that cost $3.00, and just soldered them in and hers works great. Hopefully that’s the problem with ours. Doesn’t hurt to try.

  17. johnny's reviewJuly 17, 2011

    great product after 2 yrs service,,no complaints with sound or picture.

  18. Chad's reviewOctober 03, 2011

    I bought the tv from WalMart just over a year ago. I work 50+ hours a week and rarely use the tv. For some reason it started blaring the volume out of nowhere and the screen goes black then everything goes back to normal. I’m not real happy that no more than it’s been used I am having this problem. Has anyone else had this happen or have an idea what the problem could be? Thanks for any help.

  19. BeeJay's reviewOctober 24, 2011

    Got this product about 18 months ago – can’t say enough good about it. For starters it remains on for 18 hours day – sometimes 24 – turn it off once weekly to enable automatic loading of the FABULOUS FREE TV GUIDE – what an amazing freebie feature – it provides background detailed info on every movie (date made, rating, actors, plot summary, etc) – wow – no need to subscribe to external TV guide or to watch the blinking ads on the slow moving TV guide that comes from our cable provider. Note: this TV guide allows you to scan forward 24 hour time slots to see what’s coming on any/every channel!!

    I agree with the poor sound (I’m hearing deficient to start with!) so I added a Vizio sound bar for $69 bucks – and presto – I “almost” have home theatre sound – an excellent cheap solution to the 2 x 7 watt speakers – I now have 100 watts when I want it which is seldom because any setting over 30/40 Watts will blow you away – the walls shake, etc.!

    I have two x 32 inch Sanyo LCD HDTV’s – the first is DP 32648 and this one DP 32649 which we are speaking about. I prefer the latter for its TV guide and Channel Information features. – I also appreciate the USB input for Photoviewer access – and the 15 pin VGA cable to connect my PC – the rest is standard fare – but good value for the low price. Pictures are acceptable on each of them. 720p covers 80% of broadcast programs anyway – at this time.
    Great buy – it’s been interesting to see the price collapse from $629. for the DP 32648 five years ago – to $348.00 18 months ago for the improved DP 32649 – and I notice it’s even less now! Recommended.

  20. Roger's reviewNovember 17, 2011

    Anyone who has a dp32649 that is broken, such as will not turn on or no power, I am interested in purchasing for parts. :)

  21. Al's reviewNovember 26, 2011

    I bought mine in 2009 and 13 month later the screen went black and no sound.
    I’ll never buy another sanyo.

  22. Jason's reviewNovember 27, 2011

    I purchased this tv two years ago on black friday 2009 at Walmart and it still works perfectly for me.

  23. bob's reviewDecember 04, 2011

    I bought this at an estate sale.. 2 mos old… $200. Works really well…

Tell Us What You Think!

Leave your review below to tell us what you think. Your reviews may be moderated to filter spam or inappropriate comments.

Submit Your Review








Hot HDTV Deals

Enter your email address to receive a FREE list of the best HDTV’s on the market today, hot HDTV deals and tips to maximize your HD experience!

HDTV deals and sales