like HDTV Universe

Polaroid 4241-TLXB Review – 42-inch LCD HDTV

Originally Reviewed on September 1st, 2007

The Polaroid 4241-TLXB is a reasonably priced, large LCD HDTV that can be found at major retailers like Circuit City. Polaroid has been manufacturing televisions for a few years now and catches many people’s attention because of their very competitive pricing. The Polaroid 4241TLXB is packed with features, most impressively is the 1080p resolution which is the best possible resolution you can buy. 1080p resolution isn’t common with HD cable programming yet but if you’re using HD gaming or video players like PlayStation 3, Blu-Ray or HD-DVD, you’ll get the full effect.

Polaroid 4241-TLXB Features and Specifications:

  • Resolution: 1080p (1920×1080)
  • Aspect Ratio: 16:9 Widescreen
  • Built-in Tuners: NTSC/ATSC
  • Contrast Ratio: 800:1
  • Component Inputs: 2
  • S-Video Inputs: 1
  • Composite Inputs: 2
  • HDMI Inputs: 2
  • DVI Inputs: 0
  • PC Compatible: Yes

The Polaroid 4241-TLXB is one of the cheapest LCD HDTV’s available in this size range. It has great features like 1080p and simulated surround sound but the contrast ratio of 800:1 is very unappealing. LCD TV’s typically have a lower contrast ratio but this may be a little too low. If you’re not an audio/video junkie and are just looking for a sleek looking flat panel to put in your living room or hang on the wall, the 4241-TLXB is a very attractively priced option. If you’re looking for a superior picture, you may want to invest some more money into a better set or get a smaller size of a better brand.

YouReviewElectronics.com rates the Polaroid 4241-TLXB 6/10!

25 Customer Reviews for “Polaroid 4241-TLXB Review – 42-inch LCD HDTV”

  1. Quinn Hotchkins's reviewDecember 07, 2008

    RE: Very dissatisfied customer‏
    From: dlanderson@polaroid.com
    Sent: Fri 12/05/08 8:26 PM
    To: SAMUEL BERRY (smberry@q.com)

    Hi,

    I do understand your frustrations with the situation and I can ensure you that the unit you receive will be bench tested and Grade A approved prior to leaving the warehouse.

    Thank You,
    PCE Support
    —–Original Message—–
    From: SAMUEL BERRY [mailto:smberry@q.com]
    Posted At: Thursday, December 04, 2008 3:50 PM
    Posted To: Support – Polaroid Customer Service
    Conversation: Very dissatisfied customer
    Subject: RE: Very dissatisfied customer

    Hello, I do apologize for my data error.

    The correct Model # is TLX 04240B, Serial # is JR7G4186730003696, UPC# 2621901016.

    Thank You very much for your reply and is looking forward to speaking with you.

    Thank You Quinn Hotchkins

    ——————————————————————————–

    Subject: RE: Very dissatisfied customer
    Date: Thu, 4 Dec 2008 14:39:32 -0500
    From: dlanderson@polaroid.com
    To: smberry@q.com

    Hi,

    The model number you have listed below is not a model number that we have. Can you please provide me with the details on what is going on with your TV and the correct model number along with the serial number.

    Thanks!

    —–Original Message—–
    From: SAMUEL BERRY [mailto:smberry@q.com]
    Posted At: Wednesday, December 03, 2008 1:21 AM
    Posted To: Support – Polaroid Customer Service
    Conversation: Very dissatisfied customer
    Subject: Very dissatisfied customer

    I’m very dissatisfied with the purchase of a TLX-046408 tv.

    So far I’ve been w/o a tv for 2 weeks and have also received very bad customer service.

    It’s really a shame that all your company want to do is give me raggedy (refurbished tv)

    instead of a new one with a year warranty or just write a refund. I have also spoken with a few more people that have experienced the same issues and we’er going to every retailer that sells your brand and mention this besides the media.

    I am so sorry that I purchased this brand.

    P.S. The managers wouldn’t even give me the president of Polaroid name or even refer me.

    If they were legitimate, they would have.

    Please call me @ 602 488 8610.

    Thanks, Quinn

    {0}
    Mark as read

    Mark as unread

    Delete

    Junk

    Not junk

    Print

    View message source

    © 2006 Microsoft Privacy Legal Help Central Account Feedback

  2. Jonathan Gordon's reviewDecember 15, 2008

    I am very disapointed with this product. Yes it is very resonably priced but you get what you pay for. After about a year it will give you huge lines in your screen and eventually you will have no picture. Don’t bother calling customer service because you will get a runaround you rust be flat out rude to. Model number tla-04011c

  3. Heather Miller's reviewDecember 28, 2008

    We’ve had this tv for 14 months. Last night out of no where while watching a movie, it jsut started making a poppling sound which got louder and louder. Remote would no longer work and we couldn’t even shut it off manually. Had to unplug it. Now, we cannot get it to turn back on and as an added bonus, it also fried the PS3 I was watching a movie on.

  4. Carlton's reviewJanuary 08, 2009

    All of you are nuts this TV rocks!! If it knocked out your PS3, you must have had it pluged in to something else. HDMI cables dont send a E.M.P. to compunent like you say. Consider reality next time.

  5. Angela's reviewJanuary 09, 2009

    We bought this tv about 2 years ago and loved it up until 6 months ago. The picture is great and we thought we had scored a great deal. All of a sudden it started a making a shrill buzzing noise. Luckily we had bought the extended warranty. Well, 6 months later the problem is not fixed. When we finally got a technician to show up for the appointment (3 tries over 4 months) it took 6 weeks to get the part in. The part was defective and the noise is even worse. Now it has been another 6 weeks and the replacement part still hasn’t been sent by Polaroid. The noise is so unbarable we can barely watch it. The parts lady at the service department told us that they can get every brand but Polaroid in within 5 days, while Polaroid can take months. I’m losing hope this will ever be resolved. I would not buy Polaroid again, which might explain their bankruptcy.

  6. Ed's reviewApril 28, 2009

    My Polaroid 42″ made it 4 months and then started to give a sharp cracking sound. It then started to “black out”, even though the power indicator was still on. After shutting it off for 10 minutes or so, it would start workink ok for about 5 minutes and “black out ” again. I managed to get a in store credit after much discussion and will be buying a different brand soon. NO MORE POLAROIDS!!!

  7. David Furches's reviewMay 19, 2009

    I stood in line on a black friday for hours to purchase this television because it was a good deal. As with most everyone else this TV only lasted a year and a half and supposely the board went bad in the back. I had it priced for $728.00 to be repaired. This TV is defenitley a P.O.S! Save yourself alot of grief and do not purchase one.

  8. Michelle's reviewJune 02, 2009

    My 42″ Polaroid lasted 5 DAYS!!!! We purchased our TLX04243B on Black Friday (11/28/08) and on December 5th started calling Polaroid. The TV would turn off after 1-1/2 hours. Well, two weeks ago the tube went out. Polaroid has the most HORRIBLE customer service. They have given us such the run-around. Everytime we would call they would tell us they never received our faxed receipt. Well, after faxing and calling (holding for HOURS to speak to someone) for months, we were told in May we need to call a different number that handels this model. REALLY? So we call this ‘new’ number. We fax the receipt AGAIN and I hold while I confirm that they receive the fax. I was told they would mail me a box so I can ship my POS TV back to them so they can ‘fix’ it. Well, after two weeks and no box, I call back and hold for an hour to talk to someone AGAIN! Well, I find out they didn’t have my address. REALLY? Because I gave them my address when I found out they would MAIL me a box. So, I give them my address AGAIN and am told I am going on a WAITING LIST to get a box. Approx 2-3 week to get a box so I can mail my piece of junk tv back to them. I will NEVER purchase a single product Polariod makes ever again in my life. Horrible products and horrible customer service. RUN as fast as you can and do not purchase a TV from them.

  9. Netta's reviewJuly 04, 2009

    This TV SUCK (TLX 04240B) I bought this tv on black friday 2008 and now im getting the black screen of death. I still have sound but no picture… Great ! NOT

  10. Planez's reviewJuly 21, 2009

    Just wanted to leave a review about this HDTV. I’m really suprised that so many people have had issues with their TVs, and it seems a shame. I’ve had mine over 1 year and 7 months now (bought it during the Black Friday deal in 2008) I have had no issues with popping or the TV giving out, and I put alot of time on it since it is my monitor and my TV as well. I LOOOVE the HDTV for the price point, and the visual quality is amazing, though the black levels do suffer a bit. For the A/V enthusiast, the TV has a great response rate, and the brightness as well as the viewing angle is exceptional, considering the price, this is worth considering as a 2nd TV. If you buy primary do buy the extended warranty, as this TV seems to have bad luck with failures.

  11. khalil's reviewJuly 24, 2009

    i bought 4241 tlxb from circuit city in 2007 after few days start having noises try to return it to store but they said after 30 days they sending a tech home
    i’m still waiting . when cicuit city went out of business i called polaroid and told them the story but no help on there end they want to charge me
    i work for a tv satellite provider and every customer that ask me which lcd to buy
    i tell them stay away from polaroid
    this is garb……………

  12. bob scott's reviewSeptember 10, 2009

    i have this t.v i have had this t.v. for two years,i have ,no problems,i have surround , system ,of which is bose plus,dvd,plus blue-ray,my vcr works great,the only thing i wish at times i tell my wife i should have bought a bigger screen,for the price i paid,of which was black friday at wal-mart,was great of which at half price .it would cost more to replace,today,,i would buy again,so all of you go get a sony,samsung,viziou,and pay for the name,for they have problems,just look at the refur,market no polariod to be found

  13. Niel's reviewOctober 08, 2009

    Whatever you do not buy a Polaroid TV. It’s OK when it works, but when it breaks down after only 8 months of use; the adventure begins. Don’t believe the literature or the reviews that say the over 30” TVs will be repaired in home. This won’t happen, and if you did not save all of the original box, they will charge you $150 for a new box. Then take a month to ship it to you. Then if you call customer service, you will get to talk to unfriendly and unhelpful people. My TV is still not repaired, and I’m losing hope that it ever will be repaired. It was an OK TV at a good price, but it was not worth it.

  14. darlene's reviewOctober 27, 2009

    yeah panasonic sucks i was so happy as a single parent and grandmother to be able to purchase my first flat screen tv dont get me wrong i worl hard everyday as a business professional key word hard. So when buying electronics and saw Vizio who I know sells alot of TV’s but they are new to the game and then I saw Polaroid someone that I knew stands by their products I decided to purchase Tv’s 7 months ago key word Tv’s. Well as all of your stories go I have…….. SOUND AND NO PICTURE!!!

    Polaroid being in the business world this could hurt you really bad as we continue to get the word out . Your product sucks. Go back to the design room and figure out who voted on buying the cheaper parts and ……FIRE THEM!!!!
    SO ..for the people who tell their friends ,who tell their friend ,you know how it goes When it comes time for a upgrade they will never consider you and as for us who will be purchasing again it will definitely not be YOU!
    You are going to lose in the HD battle so don’t even go back to the lab for the next level of TV’s you have eliminated yourselves

    VIZIO VIZIO VIZIO OH HELL ANYONE BUT YOU POLAROID

  15. Nathan's reviewNovember 29, 2009

    I also bought the 42″ Polaroid during black Friday, about a year ago. The tv undergoes daily use and i have not had any problems with it. However, it has started to make a buzzing noise. It is similar to when you turn an old tube tv on; you can hear a really high frequency noise. except, the one my Polaroid is making is lower frequency and more acute.

    Now the question is.. Do i immediately sell this TV before it shits out and i have to deal with the apparently poor service of Polaroid, or do i keep it and hope for the best?? if you can help, please give me some advice. Nathan2189@aol.com

  16. Anne's reviewDecember 27, 2009

    I bought this TV on Black Friday Special from Walmart in 2008. I am glad I did not pay extra for the extra warrenty for 1 year, we had no problems until 2 weeks ago. Just over one year after we purchased the tv. Now when you turn the tv on half the screen is black for the first 10-15 minutes. Once the TV ‘warms’ up the full screen works again…for now. I assume this problem will continue to get worse until I have no picture at all. I am guessing it will be cheaper to replace then fix it. I would not suggest this TV or Polaroid unless you only want a TV that last 1 year.

  17. George Morgan's reviewFebruary 11, 2010

    Purchased 42 ” Pola”roid” from Circuit City two and a half years ago. Great picture but in about a month started buzzing loud- couldn’t fix problam. Had a warranty (4 years) so I told them to do something they did nothing. Last month TV went completely out -no picture. Assuranty picked up warranty for Circuit City. called them and in three weeks sated tV no good. Assuranty was pretty nice but stated they had to pro rate the warranty offered me a 42 in Sylvania or 599.00. Took the money and looking for a good TV within my price range. Still waiting for the money to come before I buy. Looking at a 46 ‘Toshiba – hope it is longer lasting. I feel I paid about 400.00 a year just to own the TV from Circuit City

    That’s Life..

  18. Clint's reviewFebruary 19, 2010

    My wife bought me a 42″ Polaroid 1080P at a black friday sale in 1997 at Circuit City. I don’t know the model. We have had nothing but a great picture and great sound from it. Maybe I got lucky. But I’ve always had great luck with Polaroid products. If I’ve ever had a problem (1 with a digital camera a few years ago) a single email had me a new camera in 2 months. My wife is watching that tv now, and we are fixing to upgrade to a 55″, that 42″er will be going to my shop as my PC/XBOX/Playstation monitor :) (God, I love the man cave now).

  19. Kelly Hook's reviewMarch 24, 2010

    I bought the Polaroid 40244B at Walmart on Black Friday 11/28/09. It worked great until last night. 03/23/10. We were watching tv as a family and all of a sudden the picture went out and we could smell something had just burned up. So, before I try to get ahold of Polaroid to see what they can do, are there any suggestions besides throwing the damn thing in the river? Did anyone get resolution with Polaroid? Please let me know. capem@swift-stream.com

  20. Marty's reviewApril 09, 2010

    To all unhappy people. This is a cheap tv! However I am a tech and have seen this brand in my shop many times for the same failure. As you have stated, high frequency buzzing in the audio, no picture, cracking popping then no power…These are all related to the power supply module. I can repair this for you. I would be willing to repair your power supply, or replace it . I do not see posting rules, so I will stop here for now.

  21. Gary's reviewApril 28, 2010

    This tv does not support 1080P. For all of you that think you are receiving 1080P, you are not. Polaroid’s tech support will even tell you that this tv does not support 1080P, I ordered a 1080P movie from Direct tv and this is when I found out 1080P is not supported for this tv. Order a pay for view 1080P movie and hit your format button and you will see it is only 1080I. Polaroid and Walmart refust to do anything about this, so I am seeing an attorney next week about a class action lawsuit. If anyone else discovers this and want to be apart of this lawsuit, please send me your email infomation to gnosker@aol.com. As a matter of fact, when you go into the menu to check what boxes this tv supports, it will not let you check the 1080P box. The screen goes blank for about a minute, and then will come back on and say this tv does not support 1080P. So we all got ripped off on this Black Friday deal. Please, check it out. This is not a 1080P tv!!!!

  22. George's reviewMay 23, 2010

    The DVD player went out on my 18.5 inch TV . It is a year old and played maybe 10 movies at the most. It quit right in the middle of a movie and started making some wired noises. I agree that Polaroid is a butt sore.

  23. Britta's reviewJanuary 15, 2011

    I purchased our Polaroid in 2009 on Black Friday. It’s never given me one issue. In fact, it was recently stolen and recovered just yesterday. It still works great.

    Reminder: most people who write reviews are people who have issues with their product/service. There are probably far more satisfied customers out there than dissatisfied.

  24. Tom's reviewJanuary 17, 2011

    I bought this Tv 2 and a half years ago and have never had a single problem. I love the picture and is the best purchase I’ve made for the price. you people must have bad luck. Ive played countless hours of video games and watched hdtv and can never complain. it’s the loudest tv in the world but my friend has a sony and it looks just as good or better. top brand names are just way too overpriced. jsut because something says sony or samsung does not make it better.

  25. Mandy Jo's reviewFebruary 22, 2011

    I own a 42 in. Poloroid HDTV which I acquired at Wal-Mart (Boo sucky china long time till WW3 erupts) for a mere $860. It has an amazing picture and keeps us entertained…if it were any larger we would just be spoiling ourselves too much as we drool and pass out on the couch each night. The xbox is a fantastical device (although I hear the PS3 is better because it plays the Blus), and I never have to use my “HD” DVD player anymore because the picture quality in the xbox is crisper than celery….Anyway, I heard about the malfunctioning TVs and inspected mine a bit closer. I found that it may be possible to fry eggs on this TV. I have had it for almost 3 years, however, it still works just fine, even after its been on for a couple days straight (at which point this device could double as both TV and heater). I see plenty of references to “luck” in the posts above, so to those people I’m asking, if I break my HDTV will I have 7 years of bad luck? Or will I just be stuck watching network television (i’m not sure which is worse) forever until the end of time.

Tell Us What You Think!

Leave your review below to tell us what you think. Your reviews may be moderated to filter spam or inappropriate comments.

Submit Your Review








Hot HDTV Deals

Enter your email address to receive a FREE list of the best HDTV’s on the market today, hot HDTV deals and tips to maximize your HD experience!

HDTV deals and sales