like HDTV Universe

Insignia NS-LCD37 (NSLCD37) Review – 37-inch LCD HDTV

Originally Reviewed on November 13th, 2007

The Insignia NS-LCD37 is a 37 inch LCD HDTV available at electronics stores like Best Buy. With 720p resolution, the NSLCD37 displays HD signals that can be received when subscribed to HD programming via cable or satellite. The Insignia NS-LCD37 features a charcoal gray and black cabinet that is pretty simple and plan looking. However, most people are considering this HDTV because if its amazingly low price and not its stylish appearance.

Insignia 37 Insignia 37″ 720p Flat-Panel LCD HDTVEnjoy the stunning detail of high-definition programming on this versatile TV that also functions as a computer monitor, so you can surf the Web on the big screen.Learn more about HDTV. Available at Best Buy.


Insignia NS-LCD37 Features & Specifications Review

  • Screen Type: LCD flat panel
  • Screen Size: 72 inch
  • Resolution: 720p (1366 x 768)
  • Dimensions: 27.5 inches high, 36.7 inches wide, 13 inches deep, 61.7 lbs.
  • Aspect Ratio: 16:9 widescreen
  • Contrast Ratio: 1000:1
  • Brightness: 500 cd/m2
  • Comb Filter: Yes
  • HDMI Input: 1
  • DVI Input: 1
  • S-Video Input: 1
  • Component Inputs: 2
  • Composite Inputs:1
  • PC Compatible: Yes
  • Warranty: 1 year
The Insignia NS-LCD37 matches up pretty well with the 32 inch model (NS-LCD32 review). It should perform equally with perhaps a slightly better picture due to the increased brightness of the NS-LCD37. Overall, a review of the Insignia NS-LCD37 finds that it matches up well with other bargain flat panels. The price is pretty average for its size and class. Finding a good deal on the NS-LCD37 could make it the best in its range.
HDTVUniverse.com gives the NSLCD37 8/10 stars!

10 Customer Reviews for “Insignia NS-LCD37 (NSLCD37) Review – 37-inch LCD HDTV”

  1. linda's reviewAugust 28, 2009

    we thought we were getting a good buy with the insignia NS-LCD37-09 when we bought our july 22,2008. we started having the picture going out every so often about 4 months ago,thought it was our satellite tv.got them out here2 weeks ago.well 4 days ago the picture went out on our tv and its not the cable.insignia says oh well its 5 weeks out of warranty and its going to cost us 150.00 just to have someone come out to tell us how much it will cost to fix it. they don’t stand behind their product. they get a D rating

  2. FJH's reviewNovember 25, 2009

    We have a 37″ LCD by Insignia. Absolute garbage! Our 10 year old 32″ CRT has far and above better picture quality. The term HDTV is thrown around so loosely today that I don’t think manufactures even know what “High definition”
    even means! Flat panel does NOT equate good picture! If you watch it from at least 20 feet away then it is sort of ok. Other than that, it is completely unacceptable!

  3. Lona Rich's reviewJanuary 06, 2010

    Stay away from Insignia products. After a year and a half, the backlight inverter went out. Insignia bounces me to Bestbuy and Bestbuy tells me the part doesn’t exist. I now have a piece of junk that cost me 850.00 a year ago.

  4. Lona Rich's reviewJanuary 06, 2010

    Insignia TV’s suck! They don’t stand behind their products! On average, their tV’s last about 4 months to a year.

  5. Tom's reviewJuly 30, 2010

    My Insignia lasted almost 2 years, I guess I was lucky compared to alot of others. It has been replaced by a competitors model. I will never buy Insignia products again.

  6. Linda's reviewFebruary 19, 2011

    My lasted 2 years 36 days. I paid 699.00 for this piece of crap. It was a 37 inch 1080p. I am so upset with this TV brand. And they say “be sure and buy a warranty” Like that did me any good. And then they tell me at the Geek repair that it will cost too much to fix so just buy a new one, oh and we wont take 37 inch TV’s here anyway. What bull crap. My warranty expired 36 days when my TV just shut off and never turned on again. Does anyone know what might be wrong so I can fix it myself. It shut off and wont turn on. The blue light comes on, but no picture…please help if you can. BTW I love being treated like crap. Only the wealthy get respect.

  7. Sherman P. Van Lieu's reviewJuly 28, 2011

    Well it’s a relief to know that I’m not the only person in this world who purchased a boat anchor for $700.00 aka Insignia 37 Inch “PIECE OF CRAP”! I do have to admit we sometimes get what we pay for, but the fact that it didn’t even last three whole years, and that Best Buy wanted me to pay a GEEK to come to my house and charge me $100 just to visit..”NOT INCLUDING PARTS”. SCREW THAT! BEST BUY you just lost another customer, and believe me I will bad mouth your electronic products till the day I die. Linda if you read this, you basically can’t fix it yourself as BEST BUY pretty controls the parts for this piece of shit. PLANNED OBSOLESCENCE that’s what we have here folks.

  8. Luke's reviewSeptember 08, 2011

    I bought a 37 inch 720p Insignia 3 years ago for $700 and have not had any problems with it at all. It was my first HDTV and decided to buy a cheaper model to start. ZERO PROBLEMS! It has only developed a couple dead pixels (which aren’t even noticeable unless you get an inch from the screen and stare at them) and the quality of the picture is great. Works fine for gaming and watching sports in HD. I don’t use the speakers on the TV because I have a stereo system hooked up to it so I can’t speak for the sound quality. As with any TV if you want great sound buy a stereo system. Guess that I got a better TV than all the negative reviews above. Sucks for you guys for sure because I love my TV.

    I did decide to upgrade to a 42in 1080p Panasonic recently and am going to sell my trusty Insignia to my parents with the entertainment center for $200-$250. They have some old RCA tube TV that they have has since like 1998. Figure this will be a cheap way to introduce them to the HD world :)

  9. David's reviewNovember 14, 2011

    Had a 32 ich insignia for 3 years and 7 months DIED ..crappy picture anyways and very slow to power up and change channels suxxxxxxx

    my old regular(not hdtv’s) lasted over10 years and never died!!!!

  10. david's reviewFebruary 11, 2012

    bought my insignia years ago.and as my work seldom allows me home time,hardly ever used it.maybe 20 hours in 4 years.and now it goes black,no picture no sound.one the one day i used it in over 8 months of power off storage,but the please wait works.so maybe its trying to teach me patience? fortunately i live by best buy headquarters so i now know where to dispose of it if help is not forthcoming.possibly in there lobby.

Tell Us What You Think!

Leave your review below to tell us what you think. Your reviews may be moderated to filter spam or inappropriate comments.

Submit Your Review








Hot HDTV Deals

Enter your email address to receive a FREE list of the best HDTV’s on the market today, hot HDTV deals and tips to maximize your HD experience!

HDTV deals and sales